Landmarks Commission Awards

The Waukesha Landmarks Commission is seeking nominations for its annual awards. The awards will be presented in May, which is Historic Preservation Month, at the Common Council meeting on May 5, 2020 at 6:30pm. 

Nomination forms are available below. Nominations may be emailed to Charlie Griffith at or mailed to Charlie Griffith, Planning Department, 201 Delafield Street, Waukesha, WI 53188. All nominations are due by Monday, March 30, 2020. The Landmarks Commission will review nominations at their April 1, 2020 meeting. 

  1. George Gunn Award
  2. John Schoenknecht Award
  3. Certificate of Merit

The George Gunn Award is named for George Gunn, AIA, long-time member of the City of Waukesha Landmarks Commission representing the architectural profession.  As a member of the Commission, Mr. Gunn had an abiding interest in maintaining the architectural integrity of structures through the processes of accurate historic preservation and/or restoration.  To this end, he shared his expertise unselfishly with those engaged in such projects.  The George Gunn Award will honor and be presented to those individuals who exhibit the Gunn spirit in preservation/restoration projects involving structures representative of Waukesha’s rich architectural history. Typically this award is given to individual(s) who are working toward or have completed a “top-to-bottom” restoration of a historic building.

All nominations are due by Monday, March 30, 2020.  Landmarks awards are presented during Historic Preservation Days in May.